NETS-T Standard 2

Standard

Standard 2:

Design and Develop Digital Age Learning Experiences and Assessments

Teachers design, develop, and evaluate authentic learning experiences and assessment incorporating contemporary tools and resources to maximize content learning in context and to develop the knowledge, skills, and attitudes identified in the NETS·S.

a. Design or adapt relevant learning experiences that incorporate digital tools and resources to promote student learning and creativity.

b. Develop technology-enriched learning environments that enable all students to pursue their individual curiosities and become active participants in setting their own educational goals, managing their own learning, and assessing their own progress.

c. Customize and personalize learning activities to address students’ diverse learning styles, working strategies, and abilities using digital tools and resources.

d. Provide students with multiple and varied formative and summative assessments aligned with content and technology standards and use resulting data to inform learning and teaching.

Summary-

Teachers create and assess real life learning experiences as well as how to involve current technology and resources to aid in the learning and teaching experiences of students. This will help to develop the knowledge, ability, and outlook as described in the technology standards.

a. The teacher will create or change related ideas that use technology and resources to aid in students learning and creativity.

b. Allow students to search the internet safely and answer their own educational questions while setting goals, handling what they learn, and understanding how well they did.

c. Adjust the lessons for the students in your class to increase the value of learning which relate to their learning styles, skills, and abilities.

d. Allow students multiple types of assessments to demonstrate their knowledge and then use the resulting information to better your teaching and the students learning.

Strengths and Weaknesses-

a. I am definitely weak in the area of creating resources and using technology in order to help my students learn. I would love to learn how to create interactive promethean games that I could use to help my tutorial students study for tests. My kids love to play the board games that I have in my room so if I had promethean games I could have them study for a test while playing. This would also be a great to have for my early finishers to use.

b. I encourage my students to use the internet to search for information that allows them to learn about their possible careers of interest. They are given several activities throughout the year that allows them to find facts about their job and what is required of them educationally to obtain that job. We also research pay scales and what it would be like for them to live alone.

c. Throughout the years it is important for me to adjust my lessons and the way I expect my students to learn. Last year I had a student with visual impairments so I had to change the way the information was presented. I had to provide a larger computer screen with larger font. The screen had to be dimmed as the bright light hurt his eyes and made them tired. Although the student did minimal research on the      computer we as teachers had to use technology in order to make him successful. The research he did do had to be supervised as he struggled to process all the information at one time and would miss important bits of information. That was a big adjustment and learning curve for the teachers and the student.

d. I am weak in this area when it comes to assessing the students through technology. I allow the students to create their transition projects using technology and I have them work on compass throughout the year but I don’t do a good job of assessing them with technology. Since I have started this class I have added several sites to my delicious account that will allow me to do this but none of them are created by me.

Leave a Reply

