NETS-T Standard 3

Standard

Standard 3

Model Digital Age Work and Learning

Teachers exhibit knowledge, skills, and work processes representative of an innovative professional in a global and digital society.

a. Demonstrate fluency in technology systems and the transfer of current knowledge to new technologies and situations.

b. Collaborate with students, peers, parents, and community members using digital tools and resources to support student success and innovation.

c. Communicate relevant information and ideas effectively to students, parents, and peers using a variety of digital age media and formats.

d. Model and facilitate effective use of current and emerging digital tools to locate, analyze, evaluate, and use information resources to support research and learning.

Summary-

Teachers are able to showcase their technological knowledge, skills, and abilities in today’s highly technology influenced society. Teachers should be able to demonstrate, collaborate, communicate, model and facilitate the uses of updated and dated technology.

Strengths-

a. I usually do well when I have to learn about a familiar product that has been updated. When windows updated to the 2010 version I was able to teach myself how to use the new settings based off my knowledge of the old settings. If it is a program that I have never seen before then I do struggle to understand how to use the entire program effectively.

c. I feel as if I do communicate adequately with my parents through the use of my website, emails, and telephone conferences. I would love to try holding an IEP meeting through live video chat for the parents that are unable to attend but I am unsure that it would be legal or if there would be any other stipulations.

Weaknesses-

b. I do collaborate with parents, students, and peers through the use of email, telephone, and edmodo but I am not sure that I use enough other good resources. Edmodo is a new program that the district is using to communicate with the special education teachers but I am still not as comfortable with the program as I would like to be.

d. I would like to say that I am proficient at using most of the technology in my classroom or in the school but there are times that a student is able to help me fix a problem before I am given the chance to work it out for myself. Since I teacher middle school most of my students are able to use the technology provided and are able to tell me why or why not they should or shouldn’t do something on it and what the consequences will be.

Leave a Reply

