NETS-T Standard 4

Standard

Standard 4

Promote and Model Digital Citizenship and Responsibility

 Teachers understand local and global societal issues and responsibilities in an evolving digital culture and exhibit legal and ethical behavior in their professional practices.

 a. Advocate, model, and teach safe, legal, and ethical use of digital information and technology, including respect for copyright, intellectual property, and the appropriate documentation of sources

b. Address the diverse needs of all learners by using learner-centered strategies providing equitable access to appropriate digital tools and resources

c. Promote and model digital etiquette and responsible social interactions related to the use of technology and information

d. Develop and model cultural understanding and global awareness by engaging with colleagues and students of other cultures using digital age communication and collaboration tools

Summary-

Teachers understand that technology is continuously changing by promoting and displaying legal and ethical practices in their every day professional careers.

Strengths-

a. weakness

b. Last year I had a student who was visually impaired and struggled to do research. I had to help him select appropriate websites, print off the information, read the research aloud, and have him highlight what he thought was relevant to his topic.

c. This is a strength and a weakness for me. I try to teach the students typical technological etiquette such as how to use computers correctly, how to properly turn them off, and why they should be cautious when doing searches on Google. I haven’t had the opportunity to discuss with them how to have appropriate social interactions that they may encounter at school or at home. I am hoping to focus on this with the blogging that the students will be doing this year. I am allowing them to comment on each other’s posts which will show them how to respectfully communicate with others through the use of technology.    

d. Weakness

Weaknesses-

a.  I feel as though I have been weak in this area but I have plans to improve on this with my tutorial students this year. Over the past few years as an inclusion teacher I have been in the classroom to help teach students how to cite their sources and help them understand the importance of citing. Although I did teach this I don’t feel as if we stressed it enough throughout the entire year.  This year I am having my students create their own blogs where they will be reading articles and reflecting on them. That will give me the opportunity to instill the importance of citing sources for an entire year.  

b. Strength

c. Both

d. I struggle to know how to teach students about global awareness. I have learned that international classroom interaction is an option but I am not sure how I would be able to incorporate that in my classroom as a special education teacher. I feel as if it would be easier for a content specific classroom such as social studies or science but special education classrooms are done differently all over the world. After I get my student’s blogs up I will look into it more and find ways to incorporate it.  

 

Leave a Reply

